Cemaes is the most northerly village in Wales, with a picturesque harbour, sandy beaches and safe bathing. It is yet another popular resort for holiday-makers. A stone built breakwater shelters the harbour where pleasure and working craft are moored. Cemaes once had its own shipbuilding industry, but Amlwch proved a more successful centre, particularly with its larger population and work force.
The A5025 road skirts around Cemaes, separating the village from the former brickworks. Although production of bricks ceased as long ago as 1914, the factory chimney and kiln remain in situ, albeit in a deteriorating condition. When the brickworks was functioning, the bricks were taken from the works on a tramway to the harbour. The route now forms an attractive walk along the valley of the river Wygyr.
On the eastern headland lies the historic church of Llanbadrig. Further information on Llanbadrig Church can be found on our Anglesey Chapels and Churches page. The headland is also home to the only vineyard in Wales.
In contrast, the western headland is dominated by Wylfa Nuclear Power Station, but it should be noted that there are excellent walks around Wylfa Head.